Event: Figaro Barista Cup 2016 champion is John Mark Trapani

He must've been born with it. Figaro Latte Art Champion of last year bagged the Figaro Barista Cup 2016 last Saturday at Figaro DBP branch in Makati.  A year after he emerged as the Latte Art Champion, JM Trapani of Figaro Scout Magbanua branch secured a spot to represent the first Filipino coffee company's in the national barista competition. With 9 other baristas from different Figaro branches in Metro Manila, Trapani won the hearts of the judges with his signature Savory Chocolatey Latte concocted mixing espresso, foamed milk with dark chocolate and chili powder. 
Trapani brought home 10 thousand pesos cash and gift packs from sponsors ( Henry and Sons, CRC, Sympa, Ideal Spaghetti and Pasta, Goodman and Fielder, Equilibrium and Worldwide Sales and Global Strategic) along with Mario Juntilla of Figaro High Street BGC, 2nd place with 5K and gift packs, Joharie Sarip of Figaro Dasmarinas Cavite, 3rd place with 1K and Gift packs, Ian Lester Matela of Figaro DBP Makati branch, 4th place with 1K and gift packs and Sherin Malayao of Figaro Theater Zone, Sta.Lucia branch 5th place with 1K and gift packs. 

9 baristas who participated were finalists from pre-screened contestants also received gift packs: Angel Santos of Figaro Brickroad,Sta.Lucia with her Honey Espresso, Mhat Vincent Mariano of Figaro Tomas Morato with his Blueberry Vanilla Espresso, Roy Chavez of Figaro Shangrila Mall with his Orange Mocha, Kurt Kevin Hispano of Figaro Liberty Center Makati with his Coco Jam Capuccino and the five winners. Each contestant was given 15 minutes to complete the task of preparing the coffee of the day and signature coffee creations presenting and explaining to the panel of judges the ingredients of their creation and the process. Mr.Justin Liu, Figaro's Executive Director and coffee connoisseur headed the sensory judges along with Christopher Balonan the Director of Cathay Land, Clarissa Malabana, HR Specialist, Marlon Aldenese of Cook Magazine, Darwin Santiago, Franchise Development Manager of FCSI, Arjay Roan Francisco, Warehouse and Logistics Manager of FCSI, Urbano Razon Jr, coffee enthisiast, Alfredo Taag, blogger/photographer/coffee enthusiast; Technical Judges: Michael Andrew Lim QAD OIC and officers Mark Anthony Dado and Criselda Angeles and the over-all judge Lorenzo Tandico, FCSI Master Barista, 2012 National Barista Champion, Commissary Manager and R&D officer. Figaro Barista Cup held every 3 years hopes to enjoin the baristas from different branches the spirit of friendly competition plus a chance to promote their creative and indigenous coffee creations to the world aside from the guaranteed slot to the nationals. The last Figaro Barista Cup champion was Maverick Fajardo of Figaro Malolos branch who won the title in June 2013.